2021 Cultural Fund Awards & Grants successful recipients

We're committed to the growth and development of current and future writers, educators and the publishing industry. Our Cultural Fund allows us to do this, so let's celebrate the achievements of our 2021 recipients.

2021 CLNZ/NZSA Writers' Award
The $25,000 Writers' Award for 2021 has been awarded to writer, architectural designer, and housing advocate, Jade Kake (Ngāpuhi, Te Whakatōhea, Te Arawa) for her project on the legacy of Professor Rewi Thompson (1953-2017; Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Raukawa). Working with Jeremy Hansen, Jade's book will focus in on some of Professor Thompson's most memorable projects, from his own home in Kohimarama to the Anawhata studio he designed for world-renowned artist Katharina Grosse. Read more here >>

2021 CLNZ/NZSA Research Grants
The four successful recipients of the CLNZ/NZSA Research Grants for 2021 are below, each receiving a $5,000 grant.
Lauren Keenan (Te Ātiawa ki Taranaki) f
or her project Rākau: The Lost Tree
Anthony Green for his project Hurt, Hope, and Healing
Lillian Duval for her project Six-legged Ghosts: Stories of the Insects of Aotearoa
Bonnie Maihi for her project The Brilliance of Resilience - Hope for a generation
Read more here >>

2021 CLNZ Contestable Fund Grants
This year $75,000 is available to apply for. Applications open on Wednesday 8 September and the successful recipients for 2021 will be announced in November. Read about our 2020 recipients here >>

Hit enter to submit